RSS

Peruvian Shrimp Ceviche

13 Mar

Shrimp Ceviche

Yield: 20 appetizer servings    Prep Time: 20 minutes     Active Time: 30 minutes

My husband and I recently bought our first home.  The second day we moved in, we were tearing down walls and opening up counter-space for my dream kitchen!  We may have slightly under-estimated how much work a full kitchen remodel actually would be, but hey, we’re young and determined!  I initially thought, “Ok in a month when this kitchen remodel is done, we will throw a house-warming party.”  Ha!  A month?  In my dreams!    Sooooo…here we are 5 months later and the time had finally come.  We invited friends, old and new, into our “brand new” house.

I decided that I wanted to attempt shrimp ceviche for the party.  I had never made this before, but we were in Vegas for a wedding last summer and had the most amazing ceviche at Sushi Samba in the Palazzo.  The next time you’re in Vegas stop in.  They have a very reasonable happy hour from 4-7pm Sunday-Friday that offers $6 mojitos and $6 appetizer specials one of them being a shrimp ceviche that I couldn’t get out of my head for months.  The shrimp was perfectly acidic and complimented by sweet tropical fruit and a kick of spice from aji peppers.

So here I was attempting to recreate this wonderful concoction from what was now a faint memory from months prior.  Aji peppers are not easy to find…yet!  I have a feeling we will be seeing these in more abundance in coming months as the Peruvian food scene really kicks off.  I decided to make my ceviche with beautiful fresno peppers for their bright red color and the kick of heat they provide.  I paired this with shrimp that was marinated in a blend of lemon, lime, and orange juice.  Mangoes and papayas were the fruit of choice, jicama for crunch, and creamy mashed avocados on the side to bring it all together.  I thought about making plantain chips which I think I would attempt next time, but for times sake I just fried up some corn tortillas and sprinkled them with a bit of lime and salt.

I most likely marinated my shrimp MUCH longer than needed.  After reading up on other recipes, I see the marinating time ranges from 4 minutes to 30 minutes at most.  Since I had never done this before, and am a freak about food safety, I went for 4 hours hoping to see the shrimp turn pink.  This really didn’t happen.  Not in the way you see when you saute shrimp.  What you want to look for is the shrimp to become opaque.  Once they are opaque, remove them from the fruit juices and toss with the other ingredients except the avocado.  My shrimp still had a good texture to them, but you live and you learn.  Now I know for next time!

Final result, YUM!!!!

SHRIMP CEVICHE

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds medium raw shrimp
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 1 cup lime juice
  • 2 mangos, diced
  • 1/2 papaya, diced
  • 1 cup jicama, diced
  • 4 Tbsp. red onion, minced
  • 2 fresno chiles, seeded, deveined, and minced
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 4 Tbsp. minced cilantro
  • 6 avocados, coarsely mashed
  • corn tortilla chips, for serving

Directions:

  1. Peel shrimp, remove tails, and coarsely chop.
  2. Mix together orange, lemon, and lime juice in a medium bowl.  Pour juice over shrimp making sure shrimp are entirely covered.  Cover with shrink wrap and refrigerate checking every few minutes.  Once shrimp turn opaque, drain shrimp in a colander.
  3. Toss together mangoes, papaya, jicama, red onion, fresno chiles, salt, and cilantro.  Fold in cooked shrimp.
  4. Serve with avocado mash and tortilla chips.

Peruvian Shrimp Ceviche

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2013 in Appetizers, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Peruvian Shrimp Ceviche

  1. Liz

    March 13, 2013 at 7:14 pm

    very pretty–looks yummy! And what fun memories it brings back 🙂 Congratulations on the dream kitchen–yay.

     
    • afunfoodie

      March 13, 2013 at 8:01 pm

      Awww thanks Liz. I’m so excited to have met a fellow blogger and food fanatic!!!

       
  2. Michele

    August 16, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    Erin. This sounds wonderful and if it is half as good as your quinoa salad on national night out,

    it should be great! Thank you. Michele

     
    • afunfoodie

      August 19, 2013 at 11:53 am

      Michele- You are so sweet!!! Thanks 🙂

       
  3. Cheryl

    September 26, 2013 at 10:11 am

    You can come cook at my house any time! Mom

     
    • afunfoodie

      September 26, 2013 at 10:13 am

      Awww thanks mom. I love you!

       

Leave a Reply

 
