RSS

Chicken Pot Pie

13 Nov

Chicken Pot Pie

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 medium carrot, diced
  • 1/2 cup peas
  • 1/2 cup corn
  • 1 1/2 cups potatoes, diced
  • 2 shallots
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1 pie crust
  • 1 large egg

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Poach chicken in 1 cup broth for about 20 minutes.  Remove chicken and let cool before cubing.
  3. Add carrots and potatoes to broth and simmer until tender about 10 minutes.  Remove from broth.  Once cooled, mix together chicken and vegetables in a large bowl.
  4. Heat butter and saute shallots until tender.  Add flour and mix constantly for 5 minutes.  Slowly add broth and wine until mixture boils.  Add cream and simmer until sauce thickens and coats the back of a wooden spoon.
  5. Spoon chicken/vegetable mixture into souffle dishes.  Pour thickened sauce over mixture.
  6. Roll out pie dough and cut to fit over souffle dishes with a 1″ overhang.  Tuck dough under and press sides of dish to create a crust.
  7. Gently whisk egg and brush egg wash over dough.  Make slits to allow steam to escape during baking.
  8. Bake until crust is browned and filling is thoroughly heated about 45-50 minutes.
  9. Let pot pie rest 10 minutes before serving.

I’m so proud to announce this is my very first recipe post.  It took me all weekend but I figured it out.  I’m the smartest woman alive!!!!!!  Enjoy 🙂

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2011 in Entrees, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Chicken Pot Pie

  1. Cheryl

    November 13, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    Looks yummy!

     
  2. Shandamarie Stracek

    November 14, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Alex and I were just talking about Chicken Pot Pies! I told him I would only make one if we went sans peas (not my fave). If I do make it i’ll totally use your recipe! Can’t wait for whats to come next.

     
    • afunfoodie

      November 14, 2011 at 6:19 pm

      Shanda-

      That’s so funny. Franzen HATES peas but I love them so much I couldn’t resist leaving them out. Thanks for checking out my recipe blog. I’m so excited to have a winter hobby!

       
      • Renee

        November 26, 2011 at 6:34 pm

        I am the only Franzen alive that LOVES peas….but I will eat this chicken pot pie any way you make it.

         
  3. Tim Franzen

    November 15, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    You go girl! Are you available on Thanksgiving? Ha Ha By thewayyour very cute as well as smart and clever!

     
  4. Cheryl

    December 7, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    Everything looks so yummy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
